Why? I Do

A recent media article points out the obvious question about my 2013 challenge to only eat/drink Starbucks… WHY?

Well, that’s just one of the questions I get from people. Really, the curiosity ranges from the obvious like costs and weight gain to almost any other topic you can think of from store design, to menus, likes and dislikes and eventually leads to questions like “what about this?” or “what about that?” And then over the course of a conversation I see people start coming up with less questions about why and how I will complete this challenge but start suggesting and creating more and more ideas and content for my year with their own curiosities. And you know what? “VOILA” I think to myself! NOW they are getting why I do the challenges I do!

See even though there are a million reasons anybody can do anything (ego, popularity, discovery, benefit, etc.) it is those questions that leave you with more questions… those questions that eventually work your mind into breaking down the how and why of something and start becoming the “what if” and “what about that!” thoughts that I love about what I do! Life is curious… Life is unique… Life is about asking questions, no matter how small, silly or profound so that you can find out what is TRUE for YOU and sometimes see if its true for others as well.

So how can eating only one company’s products impact me, anybody? Well Mr. McDonald’s already proved that question years ago with his documentary and Mr. Subway did his take on the loosing weight portion of the food challenges too. But when I watched those guys doing their thing I asked myself “where are the WOMEN challenging themselves in the world?” “Where are the effects being shown on a woman’s culture? A woman’s family & children? A woman’s diet, weight, fashion, checkbook, community and world through challenges?” “Where is HER VOICE on how an international company is directly or indirectly impacting everything from her waistline to her bottom line and every other woman’s, man’s, child’s, societies and planets world with their presence?”

Here I say. Here is one of “her” voices in this one suburban-Seattle mothers visions, ideas, actions and reactions to questions that might seem small, trivial or misunderstood but that at least offer HER perspective!

As with most of life’s challenging questions about WHY?… things start out with reservation and hesitation, even fear, loathing, upset or ridicule. But it’s what that questioning LEADS TO… the ideas, the engagement, the creativity, the expression, the INVOLVEMENT in life that make my questions, my challenges, my voice of only eating/drinking Starbucks for a year all the more sweet. Because it is the question itself that brings us to what it is to be a woman, a mother, a blogger, a eater and drinker of only Starbucks for a year, basically… what it is to be a HUMAN.

And THAT, no matter how many times the question WHY? is asked, or by whom, or for what reason, is ALWAYS going to be your answer.

So again, WHY? am I doing this challenge? Or WHY? will I do any challenge in the future? Because I LOVE being human and I LOVE the privilege of being able to ask the question WHY? in the first place! I love the question WHY? because sometimes I find that the answer leaves me with even more questions about life… and then, my circle starts all over again and I wouldn’t want my WHY? any other way.

Thanks Linda for asking… and for everybody that is interested in asking WHY? themselves!

20 comments on “Why? I Do

  1. Hi Beautiful,

    This is Winter from starbuckseverywhere.net. Welcome to the club of people doing interesting Starbucks-related things.

    We should meet sometime.

    Winter

  2. You’re creating massive amounts of waste with all the prepackaged foods and beverages you’ll be consuming this year. Want to make a difference? Volunteer at your local animal shelter or soup kitchen.

    • Yes, addressing waste is part of my month of “Environmental” April which will highlight Starbucks challenges & accomplishments.

      I do volunteer, A LOT! In fact I logged more than 2k hours one year at children’s hospitals and running a children’s art fair that benefitted a local DV shelter! I have also turned my own baby shower into a fundraising event for a local DV women’s/children’s shelter (instead of getting presents for us) because I believe in volunteering and giving back that much!

      Thanks for your concerns.

      • Yep, and I do love to recycle! My children’s clothing line that was made mostly from recycled materials (in partnership with Ecocycle in Boulder, CO) is a great example of that! I’ll talk about Starbucks recycling in my “environmental” month of April with this challenge.

  3. I don’t know if I don’t get your point or if you just don’t have a very important one. Why don’t you do a challenge that has a greater (and positive) impact on the human race or the planet? This just seems stupid to me. Morgan Spurlock had a very valid goal and point: to prove how eating fast food regularly has a detrimental effect on your body. He asked this question after a mother tried to sue McDonald’s for making her child obese. The judge in the case said they would have to had proven that McD’s is bad for the child’s health by eating it and only McD food for a month straight. He did it for only 30 days and made a really great case that changed the fast food industry in this country. A valid point and a noble cause. I still don’t get why you are doing this other than to prove that women can do challenges. How about challenging yourself to run a marathon? Or to eat only food that has a positive impact on planet earth (like eating all organic food and if you eat meat to only eat meat that of an animal that was treated humanely like Jamie Oliver has been pushing for)? I still don’t know what you are trying to accomplish here. Maybe you have a real goal but haven’t communicated it- or maybe I’m a bit slow? At the end of the year what do you think you will have to show for it?

    • Christine, great points. And I have tried communicating the many reasons I do what I do but rarely will media sound bites or 400 character segments ever show the depth in the way I would like.

      Hopefully an entire year focused on one subject will, it is a lot of ground to cover…30 days isn’t even long enough for any research project to actually log academic-worthy data. McDonalds changes were media/public reaction based, not challenge based solely.

      This is the third year of challenges for me with my first year giving all my time & money to a nonprofit. Long story short is people are going to take whatever they want from things like my blog/challenges, the Super Size Me movie or a news article. Each challenge is one I’m interested in for many reasons and not everybody else is going to like or appreciate it but the great thing about that is they don’t need to read or watch these things if they don’t want.

      The simple fact that you question this one challenge and asked more about it is a great dialog to begin with! All I can ever say to people about any year of my challenges is the way I approach it myself…try it, document it and make discoveries for yourself as you go. Different people will find different truths depending on their perspectives, bias, etc. but sometimes it is information that is important for them too? The process of discovery is an amazing, fantastic thing…

      And it is pretty much how life works with or without my challenges.

      Thanks for your queries!

  4. This would make more sense if the Starbucks Companies sold themselves as being the ultimate daily diet for women. Educate us, do they encourage us to only shop for food/drink at their companies because it is healthier for women? I would miss eating at restaurants with friends and it would annoy them, so I would have to pass on this one.

    • I’m not sure if Starbucks would brand themselves (or a store/concept/product like Evolution Fresh) to be about “diets” because even that moniker is restrictive on many levels. But my “story” on this years challenge by media has become about a diet… that is actually only my first months focus with subsequent months to be taking on topics from environment to saving money to even more surface-level edu-tainment topics like fashion.

      Because I choose what to focus on (besides the fact that the only food/drink I consume all year is from the company) I can choose topics I am curious about. So, with all the questions and conversations now roaming all over the world on my challenge… more ideas, suggestions from viewers as to topics to focus on for a month would be GREAT!

      *but a word of note here: obviously super negative comments or rude behavior will never make these pages so please have a bit more than fowl words or you won’t get an answer, thanks*

  5. You’re getting a lot of hate, so here’s a positive comment: I read about you on Huffington Post. This is what sucked me in: “Where are the effects being shown on a woman’s culture? A woman’s family & children? A woman’s diet, weight, fashion, checkbook, community and world through challenges?”

    There’s not enough room for me to go into why that rang a bell with me. I’ll just say BRAVO!! I get what you are doing and why you are doing it. I subscribed, so I’ll be able to follow all of your 1-year challenges.

    Sending you positive vibes!

    • Thank you Althea, thank you very much for the positive vibes!

      There really is as much positive comments, ideas and inspirations coming my way as negative. They just are not always as public because they are to me personally, DM on Twitter or FB messages.

      So you are in very good company Althea, and I very much appreciate your curiosities and inquiries with the topics I’ve chosen. Enjoy!

  6. All the best with this endeavor, BE! I sincerely admire your spirit and enjoyed perusing your blog. Your family is precious, all smiles contagious with genuine, uplifting energy.

    • Jean-

      Thank you for finding and reading through my adventures with challenges! And also for such kind words about my boys and our family. It’s not hard showing such authentic love & joy when I’m around them, they are my life!

Leave a comment